Slacker Logo


After 7

After 7 were among the more refined contemporary R&B vocal groups to arrive during the late '80s. Formed in 1988 at Indiana University by Kevon and Melvin Edmonds and Keith Mitchell, they signed to major label Virgin and were an instant success with their debut single, "Heat of the Moment." Written and produced by one of the Edmonds' four other brothers, Babyface, beside his partner L.A. Reid, the single entered the Billboard R&B chart in July 1989 and eventually reached number five. After 7, their first album, followed shortly thereafter and went platinum after subsequent singles "Ready or Not" and "Can't Stop" -- both of which were also Babyface/L.A. Reid collaborations -- topped the R&B chart. Once the album ran its course, After 7 recorded "Nights Like This" for the soundtrack for The Five Heartbeats. The Jesse Johnson production likewise peaked within the R&B Top Ten. The group's 1992 follow-up, Takin' My Time, involved less input from Babyface and Reid, more from fellow debut contributors Daryl Simmons and Kevin Roberson (aka Kayo), and added the likes of Dallas Austin and Randy Ran to their gang of studio associates. "Kickin' It" and an update of the Originals' "Baby, I'm for Real" maintained the trio's chart run. Reflections, released in 1995, was highlighted by "'Til You Do Me Right," a song written by Kevon, Melvin, and Babyface. Takin' My Time and Reflections were both certified gold. Although they didn't record for another two decades, After 7 occasionally toured, and Melvin was replaced with his son Jason. Melvin eventually returned, and the quartet worked again with Babyface and Simmons on Timeless, released in 2016. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
After 7

    R&B Smooth Jams

    R&B Smooth Jams
    1 song

    Smooth Jazz

    Smooth Jazz
    1 song

    New Smooth Jazz

    New Smooth Jazz
    1 song

    '90s R&B

    '90s R&B
    3 songs

    R&B and Soul Mix

    1 song

Albums by
After 7

Top Songs by
After 7

  1.   Song
  2.   Runnin' Out
  3.   Baby I'm for Real (Natural High)
  4.   Ready or Not
  5.   Heat of the Moment
  6.   Can He Love U Like This
  7.   Can't Stop
  8.   I Want You
  9.   Let Me Know
  10.   'Til You Do Me Right
  11.   One Night
  12.   Sara Smile
  13.   Nights Like This
  14.   Gonna Love You Right
  15.   Everything
  16.   More Than Friends
  17.   Betcha by Golly Wow
  18.   Loving You All My Life
  19.   Can He Love You Like This
  20.   Home
  21.   If I
  22.   Too Late
  23.   Takin' My Time
  24.   Kickin' It
  25.   I Like It Like That
  26.   How Do You Tell the One
  27.   Cryin For It
  28.   Don't Cha' Think
  29.   G.S.T.
  30.   No Better Love
  31.   Save It Up
  32.   All About Love
  33.   Honey (Oh How I Need You)
  34.   Givin up This Good Thing
  35.   How Could You Leave
  36.   Sprung on It
  37.   What U R 2 Me
  38.   How Did He Love You
  39.   Love by Day, Love by Night
  40.   Sayonara
  41.   He Said, She Said
  42.   My Only Woman
  43.   Loves Been So Nice
  44.   Not Enough Hours in the Night

Artists Related to After 7


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |