Slacker Logo


Euge Groove

Euge Groove -- a pseudonym for saxophone journeyman Steve Grove -- began playing piano in the second grade and turned to the saxophone at the age of nine or ten. His teacher gave him a classical education on the instrument, which he continued at the University of Miami's School of Music, where he became interested in jazz. Upon graduation, he initially remained in Miami doing sessions and playing in bands such as Expose, where he can be heard on the group's 1987 number one single "Seasons Change." He then moved to Los Angeles and joined Tower of Power, remaining with the group for about four years. Following this experience, he freelanced, doing sessions and working in backup bands, his clients included Joe Cocker, Eurythmics, the Gap Band, Huey Lewis & the News, Elton John, Bonnie Raitt, Aaron Neville, Eros Ramazotti, and Richard Marx. His saxophone appeared on Marx's Top 20 pop and number one AC hit "Keep Coming Back" in 1991. At the end of the '90s, Grove developed the persona of Euge Groove, a corruption of his real name, and recorded a demo that attracted the attention of various labels. This demo soon landed him with Warner Bros. Euge Groove, his debut album, was released in May 2000. At the time, the saxophonist was touring in Tina Turner's backup band. He followed up with 2002's Play Date, featuring the singles "Slam Dunk" and "Rewind." In 2004, Grove moved to Narada for the '70s pop-soul-inflected Livin' Large. Grove stuck with the '70s vibe for 2005's Just Feels Right, and then incorporated a more gospel approach for 2007's Born 2 Groove. He moved to Shanachie for 2009's Sunday Morning. In 2011, Grove returned with his seventh studio effort, the fittingly titled Seven Large on Shanachie, with two more releases following for the label, 2012's House of Groove and 2014's Got 2 B Groovin. In 2016, he delivered Still Euge, featuring guest appearances from Chuck Loeb, Peter White, and others. ~ William Ruhlmann
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Euge Groove

    Smooth Jazz

    Smooth Jazz
    25 songs

    New Smooth Jazz

    New Smooth Jazz
    25 songs

    Jazz Mix

    Jazz Mix
    3 songs

    Smooth Vocals

    Smooth Vocals
    2 songs

Albums by
Euge Groove

Top Songs by
Euge Groove

  1.   Song
  2.   Sneak a Peek
  3.   Livin' Large
  4.   Chillaxin
  5.   The Funky Bunch
  6.   A Summer Night's Dream
  7.   Miss Bane
  8.   Love, Passion and Joy
  9.   Mr. Groove
  10.   Get Ready
  11.   Homie Grown
  12.   Forever and a Day
  13.   All for You
  14.   S7ven Large
  15.   Faithful Central
  16.   Born 2 Groove
  17.   Slow Jam
  18.   Groovin' Up Hip Street
  19.   House of Groove
  20.   In Love with You
  21.   Religify
  22.   Say My Name
  23.   Got 2 Be Groovin'
  24.   Rain Down on Me
  25.   Still Euge
  26.   Old Edu (Old School)
  27.   Get 'Em Goin'
  28.   Wildflower
  29.   Vinyl
  30.   Sunday Morning
  31.   Romeo & Juliet
  32.   Gonna B Alright
  33.   Café del Soul
  34.   Baby If You Only Know (What I Could Do) by Jeffrey Osborne
  35.   Rewind
  36.   As You Like It
  37.   Ten 2 Two
  38.   The Last Song
  39.   It's Only Rain by Chioma
  40.   Indian Summer
  41.   Talk to Me
  42.   Another Sad Love Song
  43.   Flower
  44.   Push It Forward
  45.   And I Thank You (Mom and Dad)
  46.   Much Love
  47.   Another Perfect Moment
  48.   Twelfth Night
  49.   Never Met a Woman (Like You) by Jeffrey Osborne
  50.   Fellowship Hall
  51.   Knock! Knock! Who's There?
  52.   Track 01
  53.   Prayer 4 Peace
  54.   Days of Soul
  55.   Yes
  56.   Tenderly
  57.   Ballerina Girl
  58.   Just Feels Right
  59.   This Must Be for Real
  60.   Straight Up
  61.   Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me)
  62.   Cabolicious
  63.   Too Cool
  64.   The Gift
  65.   Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
  66.   With You I'd Believe
  67.   Playdate
  68.   Belle Maria by Peter White
  69.   Let's Get It On
  70.   Lay It Down
  71.   Babylon
  72.   Tenderhearted Lover
  73.   Let's Chill
  74.   Movin' On
  75.   The Gospel Truth
  76.   Summer Stroll
  77.   Silhouette
  78.   Tango in Tio
  79.   Truly Emotional
  80.   Coffee and a Kiss
  81.   Welcome to the Journey
  82.   Thank You (Falletin Me Be Mice Elf Again)
  83.   Gimme 6
  84.   Geez Spot
  85.   Cantstopdafunk (Straight Up Reprise)
  86.   God Bless You by Kate Miner Moebel
  87.   Lampin' It
  88.   Give Into Me
  89.   Hey Hey Lil' Lilah Belle
  90.   On Your Knees
  91.   From the Top
  92.   Love Won't Let Me Wait
  93.   12:08 AM
  94.   XXL
  95.   Love Me
  96.   Gimmealilclick
  97.   Gonnatakeuhigher
  98.   Take You Higher
  99.   To the Nines
  100.   Slam Dunk
  101.   Hide and Seek