Slacker Logo



Fantasia Barrino may have won the third season of American Idol with "I Believe," but it was her passionate take on George Gershwin's "Summertime" that had everyone talking for weeks. Confident to a degree that she could be considered brash, Barrino at first glance seemed an unlikely candidate to take the teen-oriented show's title, but with her dynamic gospel-tinged voice that never failed her, she not only became the Idol judges' obvious favorite, but the American public's, too. She debuted with a platinum album and remained with a major label longer than most other Idol stars and R&B singers. Born and raised in High Point, North Carolina, Barrino fell in love with music through the recordings of Monica, Brandy, Aretha Franklin, P!nk, and -- in keeping with her diversity -- Aerosmith. Being a 19-year-old single mother and an Idol finalist had some of the media mumbling and sneering, but the always certain Barrino paid no mind. Becoming a mother at the age of 17 focused Barrino and gave her the strength and drive to audition for the show in Atlanta. Out of 70,000 hopefuls, Barrino earned her way to the top by adjusting her style to whatever genre was thrown at her. Upon beating runner-up Diana DeGarmo, Barrino's first words as American Idol 2004 were "I broke my shoe!" Numerous appearances on talk shows and a cameo on the television show American Dreams -- playing the role of her beloved Aretha Franklin -- followed. Barrino made history when she became the first artist ever to debut at number one with her first single, "I Believe" -- written by Idol alum Tamyra Gray. J Records released her full-length debut, Free Yourself, in November 2004. Also featuring two Top Five R&B/Hip-Hop hits, it went platinum, and its lead single won a Billboard Music Award for Top Selling Single of the Year. Barrino was also nominated for three Grammy Awards. A year later her autobiography, Life Is Not a Fairy Tale, appeared and was turned into a film directed by Debbie Allen; it premiered on the Lifetime cable network in 2006. Her sophomore effort, simply titled Fantasia, landed that December. It debuted at number 19 on the Billboard 200 and eventually went gold. Back to Me, released in August 2010, was led by a pair of Chuck Harmony-produced singles in "I'm Doin' Me" (number 11, Hot R&B/Hip-Hop) and the Grammy-winning "Bittersweet" (number seven, Hot R&B/Hip-Hop). She gave birth to her second child, a son, in December 2011. The singer's fourth album, Side Effects of You, was released in April 2013. Big K.R.I.T., Kelly Rowland, and Missy Elliott made guest appearances on the set, driven by the Commodores-sampling "Lose to Win." In July 2016, following a co-headlining tour with Anthony Hamilton, Barrino released The Definition Of..., her fifth album. ~ David Jeffries
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    '00s R&B

    '00s R&B
    6 songs

    '00s Pop

    '00s Pop
    1 song

    R&B and Soul Mix

    R&B and Soul Mix
    8 songs

    Grammy Awards 2014

    Grammy Awards 2014
    3 songs

    R&B Smooth Jams

    2 songs

    Traditional Gospel

    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Bittersweet
  3.   When I See U
  4.   Free Yourself
  5.   Truth Is
  6.   Without Me
  7.   Baby, It's Cold Outside
  8.   Hood Boy
  9.   I Nominate U
  10.   Supernatural featuring Big K.R.I.T.
  11.   Collard Greens & Cornbread
  12.   Lose to Win
  13.   Sleeping with the One I Love
  14.   I'm Doin' Me
  15.   I Made It by Tye Tribbett
  16.   Only One U
  17.   No Time for It
  18.   Give Love on Christmas Day
  19.   Santa Claus Go Straight to the Ghetto
  20.   The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)
  21.   Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  22.   This Christmas
  23.   Silent Night
  24.   I Believe
  25.   Baby Mama
  26.   Get It Right
  27.   Ain't Gon' Beg You
  28.   Got Me Waiting
  29.   When I Met You
  30.   I'm Not That Type
  31.   Who's Been Lovin' You
  32.   In the Middle of the Night
  33.   Don't Act Right
  34.   Roller Coasters by Aloe Blacc
  35.   Go on and Dance to the Music
  36.   Haunted featuring Al Sherrod Lambert
  37.   Supernatural Love by Big K.R.I.T.
  38.   Teach Me
  39.   I'm Here
  40.   Sunshine
  41.   Bump What Ya Friends Say
  42.   Summertime
  43.   In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning