Slacker Logo


Leela James

Like almost all other musicians hit with the neo-soul and retro-soul tags, the primary inspirations of singer and songwriter Leela James are classic artists who arrived no later than the early '70s. Aretha Franklin, Chaka Khan, and Tina Turner were among the vocalists to whom the gritty-voiced Los Angeles, California native was likened. After James was showcased on an uplifting track off Pete Rock's Soul Survivor II, "No Tears," she made her proper debut on Warner Bros. with a throwback-oriented set titled A Change Is Gonna Come (2005). Featuring a cover of Sam Cooke's song of the same title, as well as one of No Doubt's "Don't Speak," the album involved assistance from major figures including Kanye West, Raphael Saadiq, James Poyser, and Chucky Thompson. It entered the Billboard 200 at number 148 and was followed with an appearance on Ray Charles' posthumous Genius & Friends, as well as nominations for Soul Train Music and NAACP Image awards. After splitting from Warner Bros., the singer landed on the roster of Shanachie and recorded one of the label's more inspired all-covers sets, Let's Do It Again (2009). The same year, she contributed to "Walk with Me," a highlight on Moby's Wait for Me album. The singer switched to Stax for My Soul (2010), which featured some of her own songwriting and peaked in Billboard's R&B/hip-hop Top Ten. A return to Shanachie yielded Loving You More...In the Spirit of Etta James (2012), a release more adventurous than the title indicated. She switched to J&T for her fifth album, Fall for You (2014), home to her three highest-charting Hot Adult R&B tracks, such as the Anthony Hamilton duet "Say That." Around the same time, James began a two-season stint on the reality television series R&B Divas: Los Angeles. Did It for Love (2017), James' BMG-supported sixth album, offered her most refined mix of vintage and contemporary sounds to that point. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Leela James

    R&B Smooth Jams

    R&B Smooth Jams
    1 song

    R&B and Soul Mix

    R&B and Soul Mix
    4 songs


    3 songs

    Smooth Jazz

    Smooth Jazz
    1 song

    New Smooth Jazz

    1 song

Albums by
Leela James

Top Songs by
Leela James

  1.   Song
  2.   Don't Want You Back
  3.   Fall For You
  4.   A Change Is Gonna Come
  5.   Set Me Free
  6.   Tell Me You Love Me
  7.   Say That by Anthony Hamilton
  8.   Soul Food
  9.   Music
  10.   Take Me
  11.   When You Love Somebody
  12.   Hard for Me
  13.   I'd Rather Go Blind
  14.   All Over Again
  15.   My Joy
  16.   Something's Got a Hold on Me
  17.   Baby I'm Scared Of You
  18.   I Want To Know What Love Is
  19.   I Remember
  20.   I Want to Ta-Ta You Baby
  21.   I Want It All
  22.   It's Alright
  23.   Save Me
  24.   So Good
  25.   Soul Will Never Die
  26.   Mr. Incredible Ms. Unforgettable
  27.   I Ain't New to This
  28.   Miss You
  29.   Let's Do It Again
  30.   Didn't I
  31.   Good Time
  32.   Good to Love You
  33.   This Day Is for You
  34.   Do Me Right
  35.   Party All Night
  36.   If It's Wrong
  37.   Simply Beautiful
  38.   I'd Rather Be With You
  39.   Don't Speak
  40.   Mistreating Me
  41.   Ghetto
  42.   Did It for Love
  43.   Real Talk: Relationships (Interlude)
  44.   Don't Mean a Thang
  45.   Say That
  46.   Everything
  47.   Give It
  48.   At Last
  49.   Sunday Kind of Love
  50.   It Hurts Me So Much
  51.   The Fact Is
  52.   Supa Luva
  53.   So Cold
  54.   You Know How To Love Me
  55.   Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
  56.   I Try
  57.   Long Time Coming
  58.   Intro
  59.   Our Love
  60.   There 4 U
  61.   Stay with Me
  62.   Old School Kind of Love
  63.   Nobody Loves You Like Me
  64.   Damn Your Eyes
  65.   I'm Loving You More Every Day
  66.   Let It Roll
  67.   It's Over
  68.   It's A Man's Man's Man's World
  69.   Clean Up Woman
  70.   Prayer
  71.   Rain
  72.   Who's Gonna Love You More

Artists Related to Leela James

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |