Slacker Logo


Little Texas

One of the most popular country bands of the early '90s, Little Texas was influenced by modern country outfits like Alabama and Restless Heart, as well as country-rock groups like the Eagles. The band came together in pairs. Porter Howell and Duane Propes started playing together in high school in 1983, and they both moved to Nashville to go to college. Tim Rushlow and Dwayne O'Brien first performed together in Arlington, Texas, in 1984. Rushlow moved to Nashville, and O'Brien followed a couple years later after finishing his degree. Del Gray and Brady Seals had performed together with Josh Logan, and they all came together in November of 1988. Finally settling on the name Little Texas, the group landed a contract with Warner Bros. in 1989 and toured heavily to help build an audience. Their debut single, "Some Guys Have All the Love," was released in 1991 and quickly hit the Top Ten, as did its follow-up, "First Time for Everything." Finally, the group's debut album, also titled First Time for Everything, was released in 1992. It spawned three further hits in "You and Forever and Me" (their first Top Five single), "What Were You Thinkin'?," and "I'd Rather Miss You." Their 1993 follow-up album, Big Time, was a smash, selling nearly three million copies and spinning off two Top Five country hits in "What Might Have Been" and "God Blessed Texas." The third single, the Seals-sung "My Love," became Little Texas' first number one hit, though all three eventually reached number one on the Nashville Radio and Records chart. Released in 1994, Kick a Little was another platinum success, with two Top Five singles including the title track and "Amy's Back in Austin." In 1994, Seals departed for a solo career and was replaced by multi-instrumentalist Jeff Huskins, formerly of Clint Black's band; in 1995, the band issued Greatest Hits, which featured the newly recorded Top Five single "Life Goes On." Little Texas took a bit of a break in 1996, only playing about 100 shows that year as opposed to the 300-plus dates they'd been doing for years. They also recorded their third album, Little Texas, during this time, but the years of touring had already taken their toll on the band, and in 1997 they decided to go on hiatus. After several years, the bandmembers reunited and recruited vocalist Steven Troy. The newly reassembled group launched the Hello Again tour in 2004. Three years later, Little Texas released The Very Best of Little Texas: Live and Loud, a new live album containing their greatest-hits, and it was soon followed by the brand-new studio effort Missing Years. The band spent the last few years touring but returned in 2015 with Young for a Long Time. ~ Steve Huey & Sean Westergaard
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Little Texas

    '90s Country

    '90s Country
    6 songs

    Southern Rock

    Southern Rock
    1 song

    Classic Country

    Classic Country
    2 songs

Albums by
Little Texas

Top Songs by
Little Texas

  1.   Song
  2.   God Blessed Texas
  3.   What Might Have Been
  4.   Kick a Little
  5.   My Love
  6.   First Time For Everything
  7.   You and Forever and Me
  8.   Life Goes On
  9.   Peaceful Easy Feeling
  10.   Amy's Back in Austin
  11.   Ain't No Time to Be Afraid
  12.   Some Guys Have All the Love
  13.   Loud and Proud
  14.   Gotta Get Me Down Home
  15.   Rebel
  16.   Redneck Like Me
  17.   A Night I'll Never Remember
  18.   Inside
  19.   Your Days Are Numbered
  20.   I'd Hold on to Her
  21.   Country Crazy
  22.   All in the Line of Love
  23.   Southern Grace
  24.   When He's Gone
  25.   She's Cool
  26.   Knees
  27.   Missing Years
  28.   This Hot in Texas
  29.   Take This Walk with Me
  30.   Kings of This Town
  31.   Rednecks Do Exist
  32.   A Reason
  33.   Texas 101
  34.   You Ain't Seen Me Lately
  35.   Your Woman
  36.   So Long
  37.   Yesterday's Gone Forever
  38.   Bad for Us
  39.   Cutoff Jeans
  40.   Stop on a Dime
  41.   Only Thing I'm Sure Of
  42.   Cry On
  43.   Better Way
  44.   What Were You Thinkin'
  45.   You Gotta Wanna Win
  46.   Slow Ride Home
  47.   Living in a Bullseye
  48.   Hello Again
  49.   How Many Chances
  50.   Love and Learn
  51.   Your Mama Won't Let Me
  52.   Medley: You and Forever and Me/I'd Rather Miss You
  53.   This Time It's Real
  54.   Yeah Yeah Yeah
  55.   Down In The Valley
  56.   Nothin' You Can Do
  57.   Why I Brought My Boots
  58.   Can't Get in a Hurry Here
  59.   Medley: Some Guys Have All the Love/My Love/First Time for Everything
  60.   Get Back
  61.   Your Blues
  62.   Party Life
  63.   Hit Country Song
  64.   Help!
  65.   If I Don't Get Enough of You
  66.   The Call
  67.   Long Way Down
  68.   My Town
  69.   Forget About Forgetting You
  70.   I'd Rather Miss You
  71.   Dance
  72.   Just One More Night
  73.   Young for a Long Time
  74.   Here Comes Santa Claus
  75.   Party Life - Dance Mix

Artists Related to Little Texas

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |