Slacker Logo


Mac DeMarco

Canadian multi-instrumentalist and multimedia artist Mac DeMarco first emerged from complete obscurity under the moniker Makeout Videotape. Immediately after finishing high school in the summer of 2008, DeMarco moved from his hometown of Edmonton to the warmer climes of Vancouver, and self-released Heat Wave, a collection of songs he wrote and recorded while bored and listless in his new surroundings. The limited run of CDs soon sold out and Makeout Videotape ambled into the live performance realm with the inclusion of additional players Alex Calder and Jen Clement. The band quickly gained regional recognition, signing to Unfamiliar Records and going on tour with labelmates Japandroids in the fall of 2009. Makeout Videotape continued to perform locally and regionally as well as release new songs both digitally and physically throughout the next few years. DeMarco also began assembling a bevy of strangely psychedelic videos in this time, all baffling and some even pertaining to the band. In an abrupt switch-up, early 2012 saw DeMarco releasing the album-length EP Rock and Roll Night Club under his own name on new label Captured Tracks. While not completely divorced from the jangly, glazed-over pop of Makeout Videotape, the new set of songs had a darker tone, and vague themes of androgyny and late-night loneliness shared space on the set list with goofy Ween-like moments. Mere months after Rock and Roll Night Club, the more cohesive and somewhat more adult follow-up 2 appeared. Critics and music lovers alike took to DeMarco's sound and he spent much of the next year on tour and in performance before releasing his sophomore album, Salad Days, in the spring of 2014. DeMarco's popularity grew immensely with constant international touring, leading to the commercial release of the demos for both 2 and Salad Days. Following a lengthy tour supporting his breakout LP, DeMarco returned home to record his follow-up, the mini-LP Another One, which arrived in August 2015. ~ Fred Thomas
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Mac DeMarco

    New Indie First

    New Indie First
    1 song

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    3 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    3 songs

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    3 songs

Albums by
Mac DeMarco

Top Songs by
Mac DeMarco

  1.   Song
  2.   Salad Days
  3.   Freaking Out the Neighborhood
  4.   Baby's Wearing Blue Jeans
  5.   On the Level
  6.   My Old Man
  7.   No Other Heart
  8.   She's Really All I Need
  9.   This Old Dog
  10.   The Way You'd Love Her
  11.   Blue Boy
  12.   Chamber of Reflection
  13.   Ode To Viceroy
  14.   Dreaming
  15.   My Kind of Woman
  16.   European Vegas
  17.   Treat Her Better
  18.   Passing Out Pieces
  19.   Brother
  20.   The Stars Keep On Calling My Name
  21.   96.7 The Pipe
  22.   Without Me
  23.   Jonny's Odyssey
  24.   Let Her Go
  25.   Still Together
  26.   Cooking Up Something Good
  27.   106.2 Breeze FM
  28.   Only You
  29.   My House by the Water
  30.   Another One
  31.   Dreamin' Fast
  32.   Dreamin' Slow
  33.   Boe Zaah
  34.   Robson Girl
  35.   Annie
  36.   Me & Mine
  37.   One More Tear to Cry
  38.   I've Been Waiting for Her
  39.   A Heart Like Hers
  40.   Just to Put Me Down
  41.   Horse Hot Wee Wee Water
  42.   Lonely Shredder
  43.   Pepperoni Playboy
  44.   Eating Like A Kid
  45.   Marilyn And Me
  46.   Go Easy
  47.   Let My Baby Stay
  48.   Goodbye Weekend
  49.   Sherrill
  50.   I'm a Man
  51.   Me and Jon, Hanging On
  52.   Organ Ronald Donkey Water
  53.   Stars Keep Calling My Name
  54.   Moving Like Mike
  55.   Passing Out Pieces of Me
  56.   Rock and Roll Night Club
  57.   Ken The Wolf Boy
  58.   Harrison Ford Escort
  59.   Potato Boy
  60.   Sloppy Lau Lau

Artists Related to Mac DeMarco

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |