Slacker Logo


Tracy Byrd

Tracy Byrd's brand of new traditionalist country made him a star in the '90s, particularly his playful, good-time party singalongs (though he also turned in the occasional ballad success). Byrd was born in the small rural town of Vidor, Texas, in 1966 and grew up listening to his family's extensive country record collection. When Byrd was 20 years old, he visited a novelty recording studio in a shopping mall and sang over a karaoke-style backing track of "Your Cheatin' Heart." Impressed, the saleswoman invited him to perform in an amateur talent show, and when Byrd was well received, he decided to make country music his vocation. He dropped out of college and joined Mark Chesnutt's band, eventually replacing Chesnutt as the house headliner at a popular nightspot in Beaumont, Texas. He made one unsuccessful trip to Nashville in search of a record deal, but his second time around, he landed a private audition with MCA executives, who signed him right away. Byrd's self-titled debut album was released in 1993, and while it wasn't a blockbuster, it put the singer on the map in a big way with its third single, the number one smash "Holdin' Heaven." The follow-up album, 1994's No Ordinary Man, was Byrd's commercial breakthrough; it sold over two million copies thanks to four Top Five hits: the dance tunes "Watermelon Crawl," "Lifestyles of the Not So Rich and Famous," and "The First Step," and the change-of-pace ballad "The Keeper of the Stars," which became a wedding favorite among country fans. Byrd followed his big success quickly with 1995's Love Lessons, and while singles like "Walking to Jerusalem" and "4 to 1 in Atlanta" didn't duplicate the massive popularity of their predecessors, they still helped the album sell at a respectable gold level. 1996's Big Love returned Byrd to the Top Five of the singles charts with the title track and "(Don't Take Her) She's All I Got," and the title track of 1998's I'm from the Country reached similar territory. Byrd subsequently decided to leave MCA for RCA, and made his label debut with 1999's It's About Time, which featured a smoother, poppier production on tracks like the near-Top Ten "Put Your Hand in Mine" (the record's biggest single). However, Byrd returned to straight-ahead, good-time country for the follow-up, 2001's Ten Rounds; fans rewarded him by sending the single "Ten Rounds with Jose Cuervo" to the top of the charts, giving Byrd his second number one. The album also featured the Top Ten hit "Just Let Me Be in Love" and a duet with Chesnutt on the playfully anti-pop "A Good Way to Get on My Bad Side." A final album for RCA, Truth About Men, appeared in 2003. Byrd then released Different Things on Blind Mule Records in 2006. An acoustic mix of the album was issued by the label two years later in 2008. ~ Steve Huey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Tracy Byrd

    '90s Country

    '90s Country
    6 songs

    Country Love

    Country Love
    2 songs

    Country Party

    Country Party
    4 songs

    Outlaw Country

    Outlaw Country
    1 song

    '00s Country

    2 songs

    Christian Country

    1 song

Albums by
Tracy Byrd

Top Songs by
Tracy Byrd

  1.   Song
  2.   The Keeper of the Stars
  3.   Watermelon Crawl
  4.   (Don't Take Her) She's All I Got
  5.   I'm from the Country
  6.   Holdin' Heaven
  7.   Ten Rounds With Jose Cuervo
  8.   Love Lessons
  9.   Drinkin' Bone
  10.   Lifestyles of the Not So Rich and Famous
  11.   The Truth About Men featuring Andy Griggs
  12.   Why
  13.   I Wanna Feel That Way Again
  14.   Anybody Else's Heart But Mine
  15.   No Ordinary Man
  16.   The First Step
  17.   Right About Now
  18.   Don't Love Make a Diamond Shine
  19.   Wildfire
  20.   Put Your Hand in Mine
  21.   Heaven in My Woman's Eyes
  22.   Merry Christmas From Texas Y'All
  23.   A Good Way To Get On My Bad Side by Mark Chesnutt
  24.   She Was Smart
  25.   Johnny Cash
  26.   Baby Put Your Clothes On
  27.   Making Memories of Us
  28.   Tiny Town
  29.   Needed
  30.   A Good Way to Get on My Bad Side by Mark Chesnutt
  31.   It's About Time
  32.   Proud of Me
  33.   Redneck Roses
  34.   I Don't Believe That's How You Feel
  35.   Good Ol' Fashioned Love
  36.   Big Love
  37.   When You Go
  38.   Driving Me Out of Your Mind
  39.   Revenge of a Middle-Aged Woman
  40.   If You Wanna Get to Heaven
  41.   Somewhere I Wanna Go
  42.   Tryin' Not to Love You
  43.   Just Let Me Be in Love
  44.   Somebody's Dream
  45.   Old One Better
  46.   Back to Texas
  47.   Walkin' the Line
  48.   Can't Have One Without the Other
  49.   Every Time I Do
  50.   When Mama Ain't Happy
  51.   You Never Know Just How Good You've Got It
  52.   If I Stay
  53.   Cowgirl
  54.   Walking to Jerusalem
  55.   Edge of a Memory
  56.   Out of Control Raging Fire
  57.   Pass It On
  58.   That's the Thing About a Memory
  59.   Today I Started Loving You Again
  60.   Before I Die
  61.   Cheapest Motel
  62.   Saltwater Cowboy
  63.   Just One Woman
  64.   The More I Feel Like Rockin'
  65.   Different Things
  66.   How'd I Wind Up in Jamaica
  67.   You Feel Good
  68.   Jingle Bells
  69.   Never Gonna Break Again
  70.   Crazy Every Time
  71.   Summertime Fever
  72.   How Much Does the World Weigh
  73.   On Again, Off Again
  74.   I Still Love the Night Life
  75.   Something to Brag About
  76.   A Little Love
  77.   Undo the Right
  78.   Ain't It Just Like a Woman
  79.   Love, You Ain't Seen the Last of Me
  80.   Pink Flamingos
  81.   Back in the Saddle Again
  82.   I Love You, That's All
  83.   Tucson Too Soon
  84.   Hava a Good One
  85.   Talk to Me Texas
  86.   Why Don't That Telephone Ring
  87.   Someone to Give My Love To
  88.   Back in the Swing of Things
  89.   Hot Night in the Country
  90.   Better Places Than This
  91.   A Cowboy and a Dancer