Slacker Logo



Named for his fear of the ocean, Wavves, the skuzzy project of San Diego slacker Nathan Williams, is a blend of distorted no-fi and refined sunshiny melodies. Charmingly messy, most of his lyrics, while difficult to decipher, generally revolve around the subjects of weed, boredom, and the beach -- when he isn't poking jabs at the gloomy subculture of goth rock (a common theme, found in "Goth Girls," "California Goths," "Summer Goths," "Surf Goths," and "Beach Goths"). Wavves was conceived just after Williams, at age 21, quit his job as a clerk at Music Trader, while he was dividing his free time between skateboarding, writing for his hip-hop blog, Ghost Ramp, and making music using an '80s Tascam cassette recorder and Garage Band software. Due to his inexperience with the program, the result of one month's worth of bedroom recording sessions was two full albums of songs: all completely mangled by overdriven inputs. Rather than scrapping the material, he embraced the in-the-red aesthetic and started promoting the songs online. Wavves was quickly embraced and touted as "the next big thing" by Internet music critics and fellow bloggers. Many praised the immediacy and D.I.Y. nature of his work, and Williams capitalized on those aspects, continuously uploading free digital versions of his music -- including two 7" singles, a cassette, and an EP -- all with simple self-drawn artwork or scanned photos for cover art. Wavves' first LP, simply titled Wavves, became available around this time as well, and it was released in a limited run by Woodsist. The more confusingly titled Wavvves (note the third "V") followed just after, and was planned for release by De Stijl before Williams jumped ship to Fat Possum. After the track list was revamped, the release date was pushed back a month and Wavvves was officially made available on March 17, 2009. After receiving mostly glowing reviews in April, Wavves got his share of bad press in late May. While performing live at the Primavera Sound Festival, assisted by drummer Ryan Ulsh, Williams had a minor meltdown and walked offstage. Later, he issued an apology, chalking up the incident to poor decision-making and a drug concoction of ecstasy, Valium, and Xanax. In 2010, after recording a few tracks with indie drummer extraordinaire Zach Hill, Williams entered the studio with Grammy-winning producer Dennis Herring to record a straightforward and surprisingly polished album. Following the August release of King of the Beach, Wavves toured as a trio with Williams assisted by former bandmates of the late Jay Reatard, bassist Stephen Pope and drummer Billy Hayes. After parting with Fat Possum, Williams released a new EP in the fall of 2011 under the Wavves name, titled Life Sux, featuring guest appearances by Best Coast and Fucked Up. He and Pope then began recording a new album with the production help of John Hill (Rihanna, Santigold), using their own money to finance the project. Mom + Pop signed the band and released the slickly produced, very '90s-influenced Afraid of Heights in early spring of 2013. Williams next focused on his beat-driven project Sweet Valley -- which he and his brother Joel started in 2012 -- realeasing their album SV in July 2013. Not content to stop at two, he formed another band, Spirit Club, in 2014 which featured his brother again, and Andrew Caddick (aka Jeans Wilder). Williams' collaborative spirit remained unquenchable and he teamed with Dylan Baldi of Cloud Nothings to record an album, No Life for Me, in 2014. It was released by Williams' Ghost Ramp label, right before Wavves fifth album. The stripped down, very hooky V was their first album for Warner Bros. and the process was painful for Williams, as a series of angry tweets sent out just before the September 2015 release date made clear. ~ Jason Lymangrover
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    6 songs

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    6 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    6 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Demon to Lean On
  3.   King of the Beach
  4.   Post Acid
  5.   Way Too Much
  6.   Million Enemies
  7.   Flamezesz
  8.   Bug
  9.   I Wanna Meet Dave Grohl
  10.   Baby Say Goodbye
  11.   Super Soaker
  12.   You're Welcome
  13.   Pony
  14.   Daisy
  15.   Nine is God
  16.   My Head Hurts
  17.   Leave
  18.   Green Eyes
  19.   Convertible Balloon
  20.   Take on the World
  21.   Linus Spacehead
  22.   Baseball Cards
  23.   Idiot
  24.   When Will You Come
  25.   Hollowed Out
  26.   Beach Demon
  27.   Mutant
  28.   Animal
  29.   Destroy (feat. Members of Fucked Up)
  30.   Poor Lenore
  31.   Gun In the Sun
  32.   Goth Girls
  33.   No Shade
  34.   Tarantula
  35.   Wait
  36.   Redlead
  37.   Paranoid
  38.   Spaced Raider
  39.   California Goths
  40.   Surf Goth
  41.   Hippies is Punks
  42.   Exercise
  43.   Killr Punx, Scary Demons
  44.   Cry Baby
  45.   All the Same
  46.   Gimme a Knife
  47.   Beat Me Up
  48.   Lunge Forward
  49.   TV Luv Song
  50.   Mickey Mouse
  51.   Wavves
  52.   Here's To The Sun
  53.   To the Dregs
  54.   Beach Goth
  55.   Rainbow Everywhere
  56.   No Hope Kids
  57.   Sail to the Sun
  58.   Mystic
  59.   Dog
  60.   Intro Goth
  61.   I Can't Dream
  62.   Cop
  63.   Afraid of Heights
  64.   Side Yr On
  65.   Loser Year
  66.   So Bored
  67.   The Boys Will Love Us
  68.   Come to the Valley
  69.   Heavy Metal Detox
  70.   Space Raider
  71.   Lover
  72.   Stupid in Love
  73.   Yoked
  74.   I Love You
  75.   Everything Is My Fault
  76.   Summer Goth
  77.   Vermin
  78.   Sun Opens My Eyes
  79.   Dreams of Grandeur
  80.   Weed Demon
  81.   Nodding Off by Best Coast
  82.   Teenage Super Party
  83.   Under
  84.   That's on Me
  85.   Heart Attack